PDA

View Full Version : Just getting started

new2disco
09-30-2011, 04:36 PM
Hey,
I'm new to Landrovers and have lots of questions...A friend of mine gave me a 95 Disco for free. New tires, brakes & rotors but it does have its problems...Rusted front floors. Mechanically it seems pretty sound for a vehicle that shows 168K except for ABS light on dash and Diff. lock is frozen. He drove it from Southern Maryland and dropped it at my doorstep in Harford County. I'd love to get it up and running. Are floor panels available?

sven
09-30-2011, 05:34 PM
Nice! Roversnorth used to sell complete sills and partial floor repair panels. Not sure if they still have them. Another idea is to buy used cut-out pieces from one of the used rover guys (Randy Williams, Will Tillery, etc).

Disco96JSWB
10-01-2011, 12:25 AM
I like the Mini in the background (behind the Disco) . . .

Rob P
10-01-2011, 05:37 AM
Ah Harford county. I used to live in Shawsville north of Jarrettsville. The D1 (discovery series one) is a good trail machine and not too demanding other than rust issues. The ABS light and the Check Engine light will be your constant companions on many journeys. Diff lock should be fixable with some lube in the right places. I've heard it called "Towny Syndrome" where the case is never shifted into lock and the lever freezes up from non use. There are some very helpful people on here that nursed me through my first 4 years of Rover ownership and I'm glad to know them all.

new2disco
10-01-2011, 06:17 AM
Thanks... I pulled ABS code 2-13. It blinks over and over... couldn't seem to clear it. Tomorrow I will tackle the diff issue and give my Disco a good once over. Hopefully no new issues.

My mini is an '87 brought in as a '60... Many mods though, it's been a work in progress!

Disco96JSWB
10-02-2011, 05:40 AM
My mini is an '87 brought in as a '60... Many mods though, it's been a work in progress!

Vtec !!
We have a '61 Morris Mini Minor and a '66 Mini Moke.