PDA

View Full Version : Series 3 Lights

sven
04-02-2007, 09:15 PM
Ok, just got this 73 S3 and Im trying to sort the lights.
In the front, what are the top white lights supposed to do and what are the lower amber ones supposed to do? :confused:

oscar
04-02-2007, 09:44 PM
OK, I'm still new at this, and don't have a vehicle outside to verify, but based on pictures I see elsewhere, I think the amber ones belong on top and would be your "indicator lights", or what we call directional signals, and the white ones should be on the bottom and would be your "side lights" or as some civilizations say "city lights"..... On mine they are side by side, with the amber ones outboard.

For parking on narrow lanes, where half your vehicle sticks out in the road, many of the European vehicles I've owned had the ability to light either the port or starboard side lights, back and front, so you would have the part sticking out in the road lit to warn oncomers of the vehicular obstruction you present. I don't know if any Landies are so equipped. The wiring diagram in my Haynes series II, IIA & III manual does not show a way to light either, just both.

superpowerdave
04-02-2007, 10:06 PM
My 73 Series III has white lights on top, amber on bottom. I don't know if mine is original wiring or not (haven't gotten that far just yet) but my white lights turn on when I turn the parking lights on (toggle the switch just one click.) The amber are my turn signals. When I toggle the light switch to turn the headlights on the white lights remain on as well.

There is a floating Green Bible that lives on the internet somewhere in PDF form and when I find the link I'll forward it to you ... the wiring diagram, while it appears evil, is actually pretty straight-forward.

Anybody know what that link is?

crazyfish
04-02-2007, 11:18 PM
white lights - running lights
amber - turn signals

lol, two days after purchase and asking questions, you make me proud!

oscar
04-03-2007, 07:03 AM