+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to ROVERS (and to Landys) - 1980 88" Series 3 RHD in Stockton NJ

Wink New to ROVERS (and to Landys) - 1980 88" Series 3 RHD in Stockton NJ

Hey everyone!

Just wanted to introduce myself and "Penny", my recently acquired 1980 Series 3 88" Landy 2.25 petrol. I picked her up from someone in KY who (I think) imported her from the UK a few years back. I'm not looking to restore her to pristine condition, rather to make sure she's mechanically sound, safe for my kids, and can handle some technical trails at Rausch without too much damage!

Here's an album of her current condition. https://goo.gl/photos/UX8oQmbMHtYzHgBV6

I'm new to the world of Land Rovers, and I'll admit I'm not very experienced wrenching on her yet, but my lack of experience is compensated by enthusiasm. I do know I'm in over my head on some things, so hopefully there are some kind souls here that are willing to offer some advice/help.

Here is a short list of issues that I'm tackling before feeling confident on the trails.

1.) Failed NJ Inspection due to emissions. Didn't register historic due to modifications, but may have to go that way. Was told to adjust the tappets and weber carb to get into spec.

2.) Turn signals/Brake lights. Gremlins in these. They work, flicker fast, then stop working after driving a bit, then work again. Lots of wires cleanly wrapped, but hard to sort out what might be wrong.

3.) Horn doesn't work. Eh, not a big deal?

4.) Heater hose from side vent to heating element is tattered. Have a replacement but there is no clearance to get it on easily? Heard the easiest thing to do is to remove the mud shield?

5.) Leaf springs. She seems to be leaning a bit to one side. Not sure why or how to fix.

6.) Seatbelts or individual jump seats in the rear for kids. Needs something so I can fit 2 carseats in for the kids, and 4 seatbelts total.

7.) Safari top. Haven't seen one listed, but would love to find one.